The Kennel Club field trial championships

There are five field trial championships each year: the Cocker Spaniel Championship, the Any Variety Spaniel (excluding Spaniel [Cocker]) Championship, the Hunt, Point and Retrieve Championship, the IGL Retriever Championship and the Pointer and Setter Champion Stake. Thank you to Skinner's Field & Trial who sponsor the Cocker Spaniel, the AV Spaniel (ex Cocker), the HPR championships and the IGL Retriever Championships.

Information on this season’s events and results for previous championships is below. Please note that due to the Covid-19 pandemic all championships for the 20/21 season were cancelled.

Cocker Spaniel Championship

2021/22 championship

The 91st Kennel Club Cocker Spaniel championship was held on Monday 3 and Tuesday 4 January 2022. Windsor Great Park by gracious permission of Her Majesty The Queen.The judges were: Mr S Bates, Mr C Colclough, Mr A Cunningham and Mr G Veasey. 38 runners and plenty of spectators made for a very busy few days, but the wonderful ground of ancient woodland and bracken beds was well suited to the little spaniels and their handlers.

The awards presentation was graciously attended by His Royal Highness, Prince Edward The Earl of Wessex, much to the enjoyment of all handers, spectators and officials alike. Her Majesty The Queen was presented with a Kennel Club commissioned portrait of her two Field Trial Champion cocker spaniels as thanks for once again hosting the Cocker Spaniel Championship. It was a very fitting winner with Her Majesty’s owned and bred cocker spaniel winning the event, making this her first Championship win.

Schedule 2022
Results 2022
  • 1st – HM The Queen’s FTCh Wolferton Drama, handled by Mr I Openshaw
  • 2nd – Ms J Righton’s Craiwarn Tinkers Stella of Costapakit
  • 3rd – Mr N Partis’ FTCh Tiptopjack Firebug, handled by Mr I Openshaw
  • 4th – Mr I Openshaw’s FTCh Mallowdale Shine
Diploma of Merit to:
  • Ms F Ardley’s Rowston Sublime of Tarncrag
  • Mr P Avery’s Deepfleet Junia (also Gun’s Choice)
  • Mr D Lee’s FTCh Kenaiteen Sagitta, handled by Mr W Clulee
  • Mr T Phillips’ FTCh Lowallin Lorcan
  • Mr D Templar’s FTCh Mallowdale Foden of Countryways
  • Mrs K Varty’s FTC Delphaven Enya, handled by Mr W Clulee
  • Ms L Whitley’s Jandenmoss Ash of Mullenscote
  • Mr S Winspear’s FTCh Kiltonbeck Arrow

The Any Variety Spaniel (except Spaniel [Cocker]) Championship

2021/22 championship

20-22 January 2022
Snilesworth, Northallerton, North Yorkshire – kind permission of Mr N Williams
Judges: Mr J Cook, Mr A Cunningham, Mrs W Openshaw, Mr R Claydon
Reserve - Mr Waddell

Schedule 2022
Results 2020

The results are as follows:

  • 1st - Mr I Openshaw’s FTCh Mountvue Heidi, handled by Mr S Dixon
    (Also gun’s choice, best bitch and best hunting Spaniel)
  • 2nd - Mr R Wilson’s INT FTCh Meadowbeat Neala of Greenbrush
    (Also best newcomer handler)
  • 3rd - Mr D Horseman’s Cornermarsh Charisma
  • 4th - Mrs T Siwek’s FTCh Surefly Sassy

Diploma of Merit to:

  • FTCh Hagghouse Warrior - Andy Cunningham
  • FTCh Broomfield Anna - Eddie Scott
  • FTCh Bucklawren Krusoe - Simon Jones
  • FTCh Murrayeden Brandi - Andy Skinner
  • Spirocon Annie of Jenoren - Jim Adamson
  • FTCh Helmsway Harrington - Ian English
  • INT FTCh Luthmhor Draco - Steve Blackwell (Also Best Dog)
  • Cornermarsh High Scar Girl - David Horsman
  • FTCh Bucklawren Luna of Stockingford - Maurice Stanbury
  • Kansas Kate - Sarah Higgins
  • FTCh Fuselea Delight - Ian Clark
  • INT FTCh Gardenrath Cheyenne - Ed McCauley
  • Cowarnecourt Keisha - Angelo Curto
  • FTCh Gorsebay Snipe - Craig Lewis
  • FTCh Willowsaul Whizz - Kev Richardson
  • FTCh Syncerus Solo of Creccamarsh - Richard Biggs
  • FTCh Hillfighter Alps - Jon Bailey
  • FTCh Hiluxdream Clipper of Cheweky - Mark Whitehouse
  • FTCh Dawsonlee Jellybean - Simon Dixon
  • FTCh Walkers Winkle - Aubrey Ladyman
  • Delflush Dice - Martin Bell

Congratulations to all those in the awards.

Hunt, Point and Retrieve Championship

The 19th Hunt, Point & Retrieve (HPR) Championship was held on 9 and 10 November 2021 at Westerdale, North Yorkshire.

The spectacular moorland was the ideal setting for the fifteen dogs and handlers to demonstrate their hunting skills and the range of game available really tested the qualified dogs. Every dog was given opportunity to show itself to its best and having the opportunity to run on such special ground was a true privilege.

The judges for the championship were Mr M Canham and Mr S Kimberley.
The championship is kindly sponsored by Skinner’s Field & Trial.

Results 2021
The results of the 2021 championship was as follows
  • Championship Winner – Mr S R C Major with Hungarian Wirehaired Vizsla; Jaguar Du Domaine Saint Hubert at Bryantscroft
  • 4th Place – Mr C Grewcock with German Wirehaired Pointer; Eleppas New Moon
  • Diploma of Merit – Mrs M Nixon with German Shorthaired Pointer; Quintana Quixotic
  • Gun’s Choice – Mr P Howard with German Wirehaired Pointer; Tickencote a Night Like This
Schedule 2021

Pointer and Setter Champion Stake

2022 championship

We will provide further details on the he Pointer and Setter Champion Stake for 2022 shortly.

2021 championship

The 2021 Pointer and Setter Champion Stake has been cancelled due to Covid-19. 

IGL Retriever Championship

2020 championship

The 2020 championship was due to be held at Ampton, Suffolk by very kind permission of Peter & Charlie Rushbrook.

2019 championship

The 2019 championship was held 25-27 November 2019 at Glenalmond Estate, Perthshire by kind permission of Mr H R Astrup.

Find out more about the IGL Retriever Championship.

2019 results

The results of the International Gundog League Retriever Championship are as follows:

  • IGL Retriever Champion 2019 - Mr Declan Boyle’s Int FTCh Miller McDuff
  • 2nd - Ms Wendy Glue’s FTCh Tanyrhallt Blue Bloods handled by Jamie Bettinson
  • 3rd - Matty Lambdon’s IR FTCh Tamrose Aragon
  • 4th - Mike Jones’s Ffynongain Buzzard of Wauniago

Diplomas of Merit:

  • Nathan Laffy’s Think Twice Zero to Hero (and guns’ choice)
  • Lee Hartis’s FTCh Troddenmills Full Throttle of Leacaz
  • Lady C Carter’s FTCh Asterix Aguzannis of Chatsworth handled by John Halsted
  • Louie Robertson’s Mitforton Onour
  • Mark Demaine’s Burrendale Fergie of Caytonfell
  • David Field’s FTCh Artistryn Ulrich