Search Hotting Up for Breed Health Coordinator of the Year

The Kennel Club has announced the nominees for its inaugural Breed Health Coordinator of the Year competition, designed to reward the hard work and dedication of its network of health coordinators across the 217 breeds recognised in the UK.

Nominations from breed clubs and councils were invited for the award and five finalists will shortly be chosen by an expert panel of judges, comprising world renowned canine ophthalmologist, Professor Sheila Crispin; Head of Canine Genetics at the Animal Health Trust, Dr Cathryn Mellersh; international championship show judge, Frank Kane; and Head of Health and Research at the Kennel Club, Aimee Llewellyn-Zaidi.

The list of nominees is as follows:

  • Racheal Bailey (Canadian Eskimo Dog)
  • Liz Branscombe (Flat Coated Retriever)
  • Sarah Broadberry (Parson Russell Terrier)
  • Linda Coleman (Briard)
  • Lesley Field and Louise Scott (English Springer Spaniel)
  • Michael Gilchrist (Hungarian Puli)
  • Samantha Goldberg (Beagle)
  • Professor Ed Hall (Irish Setter)
  • Lynda Heron (Labrador Retriever)
  • Pauline Lock (Chow Chow)
  • Maria McGuinness (Great Dane)
  • Lesley Parker (Giant Schnauzer)
  • Rebecca Peek (Irish Wolfhound)
  • Vivien Phillips (Basset Griffon Vendeen)
  • Penny Rankine-Parsons (French Bulldog)
  • Julie Revill (Welsh Springer Spaniel)
  • Alison Seall (Glen of Imaal Terrier)
  • Tina Watkins (Basset Hound)
  • Margaret Woods (Golden Retriever)
  • Kathryn Wrigley (Gordon Setter)

Caroline Kisko, Kennel Club Secretary, said: “The Kennel Club congratulates the breed health coordinators who have been nominated for this award. This role involves a lot of hard work and is often driven by an individual’s determination and vision. We wish all nominees the best of luck as we draw nearer to selecting an overall winner and we really hope the breeds will get behind their own health champions.”

The Kennel Club will provide information on how to vote online once the judging panel has selected its five finalists.