Image of Kennel Club logo
2017 KCAI Trainer of the Year

2017 KCAI Trainer of the Year

The Kennel Club Accredited Instructors Scheme (KCAI Scheme) recognises and promotes dog training instructors, who have undertaken to abide by the scheme’s code of practice which has the welfare, care and needs of the dog at heart.

The KCAI Trainer of the Year award recognises the outstanding talents of dog training instructors, who are members of the KCAI Scheme.

2017 KCAI Trainer of the Year public vote is now open!

Our judging panel has now selected five finalists to go forward to the public vote to decide who will win the 2017 KCAI Trainer of the Year title!

Who do you think deserves recognition as the 2017 KCAI Trainer of the Year? Get to know the finalists by clicking through to find out a little more about why they should gain your vote.

If you already know who you would like to vote for please click here




Name: Kay Attwood
Region: Camberley, Surrey

Find out more about Kay

Name: Barry Harris
Region: Wirral, Merseyside

Find out more about Barry


Name: Denise Hubbard
Region: Middlewich, Cheshire

Find out more about Denise

Name: Hilary Mears
Region: Wellingborough, Northamptonshire

Find out more about Hilary


Name: Corrine Kennedy
Region: Perth, Perthshire

Find out more about Corrine

Nominations for the finalists were based upon the following criteria:

Nominations Criteria

Winner announced: Crufts 2018

The finalists have been invited to attend a ceremony to be held at the world’s greatest dog show, Crufts, on Saturday 10 March 2018. Here their contribution to dog training will be recognised and the winner of the 2017 KCAI Trainer of the Year award will be announced. As well receiving the title of KCAI Trainer of the Year, the winner will also receive a trophy, certificate and a £500 voucher for a dog-friendly holiday, courtesy of the KCAI Trainer of the Year sponsor, Hiscox UK, (Kennel Club Trainer Insurance provider).

Key dates:

For full terms and conditions on the 2017 KCAI Trainer of the Year click here.

Previous KCAI Trainer of the Year winners 

Need some inspiration for your vote? Find out more about our previous winners by clicking here.