Derbyshire Dog Wins English Springer Spaniel Championship

A three year old dog from Derbyshire, Rheastmooar Fizzy, and her owner Jon Bailey, have won the prestigious Kennel Club English Springer Spaniel Championship 2015, supported by Skinner's pet foods, at the Thirlestane Estate, Lauder, Scotland.

The championship, organised by the Spaniel Club, tests the working ability of English Springer Spaniels in competitive conditions and is designed to assess the dogs' hunting and retrieving skills at a championship level.

Caroline Kisko, Kennel Club Secretary, said: "This year's English Springer Spaniel Championship saw some exceptionally talented dogs and handlers and we were impressed by the high level of work carried out throughout the competition.

"The Spaniel Club did a fantastic job of organising the competition again this year, and the Thirlestane Estate was an ideal location for it, so we are very grateful to Wilson Young and his son, Wilson Young Junior, and Eskdale Shooting Services for their kind permission to hold the Championship there.

"A big congratulations goes out to Rheastmooar Fizzy and Jon for their victory against such tough competition and we wish them much continued success in the sport in the future."

Judges Graham West, Ben Randall, Andrew Cunningham and William Megaughin selected the following winners at the competition:

  • 1st- Rheastmooar Fizzy, owned by Jon Bailey
  • 2nd- International FT Champion Hollydrive Theo, owned by Ian Openshaw
  • 3rd- FT Champion Helmsway Hope, owned by Ian English
  • 4th- FT Champion Simonside Doris of Laysan, owned by Ben Watkins

Diplomas of Merit were awarded to:

  • Caulliechat Primrose, owned by Mr J Howden
  • FT Champion Nederscot Eirwen, owned by Mr E Smith
  • International FT Champion  Hollydrive Kurt, owned by Mr I Openshaw
  • Wrenmarsh Melody, owned by Mr R Allum
  • FT Champion Helmsway Henry, owned by Mr A Bennett
  • Goodspeed Warrior, owned by Mr B Faley
  • International FT Champion Sliabh Treasure, owned by Mr L Rice
  • FT Champion Wyndhill Brett of Stagsden, owned by Mr A Coutts
  • FT Champion Broomfield Dee, owned by Mr E Scott
  • FT Champion Balmuir Skylark, owned by Mr M Huitson
  • Vysjkan Jae, owned by Mr M Armstrong
  • Bishwell Beebop, owned by Mr S Morgan
  • FT Ch Brynfedi Adel of Countryways, owned by Mr D Templar
  • Murrayeden Apollo of Nederscot, owned by Mr E and Mrs J Smith

For more information about Kennel Club Field Trials, Championships and working gundogs, visit

Copyright © The Kennel Club Limited 2019. The unauthorised reproduction of text and images is strictly prohibited.